I am more convinced than ever that most relationships are pretty fucked up. 

Women’s retreat this weekend

Or  am I just a magnet for the worst tales? 

I’ve been told twice in the last few days that I have the most interesting stories…Perhaps when life is smooth and dull you attract people whose lives are also smooth and dull….whilst when you live a little further to the edge people tell you their woes and actively seek you out, knowing you won’t judge? Or perhaps people who speak to me are honest because I am honest.

I don’t know. But today I had reason to feel lucky that my story wasn’t as bad as my friend’s. 

My lovely psychologist who came over from Oz very early in January and provided the perfect end to my “putting to bed the awfulness of 2015” trip to Cornwall – with her life affirming -ness, her successes, her happiness… Is over in the UK again. 

She has fallen in love – with a Dane living in London – who was preparing to move to join her and her kids in Sydney later this year. They had spent lots of time between Europe and Oz, skyped and texted constantly … It was a grand affair, the love of her life

On arriving in London having traveled 30,000 miles to be with him, to accompany him to Denmark for his granny’s funeral, she prepared to Skype her kids and came across a conversation with “Electra”. A brusque conversation lasting several months, the gist of it being “I’m naked come over”.

He’s flying back from Florida this morning to meet her at his flat and she knows it’s over. She can’t trust him again. His best friend is dismayed – she knows he really is in love with her and that he will be devestated. 

Is he, a manipulative narcissist who just takes what he wants in life or a genuine guy who’s fucked up. 

Can his type of love be real love?

I know enough cases – not thousands but certainly handfuls – of cases of true lasting love. This would just not happen to those people.

I cried when she told me that it had made her lose her trust in men completely. It brought up so much stuff for me too. Whilst I’m happy, genuinely happy, and settled and content – with even the latent tension in my jaws disappearing – the idea of meeting and dating another man seems far away, and if I’m truthful, pointless. 

2 thoughts on “Liar liar liar

  1. That’s a horrible thing he did. There are too many men (and some women) who ruin it for the rest. Even though it seems like no one can be trusted, I have proof that there are still good men out there. I found one, that’s how I know there’s others. I’m glad you are happy on your own. However, there is hope that you can find someone trustworthy and available to share your journey with, if that’s something you want. I have faith for you. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

